top of page

T H E G I R L C R U S H

Now I'm not saying there is anything wrong with a girl crush, all I'm saying is lets try focus them on people who are deserving of our admiration. I see pictures on pinterest of Gigi Hadid and Kendall and think: 'Ugh I'd love to look like that,' or 'that outfit is beaut, if only I had the money to buy clothes like that,' or 'if only I could afford a PT to get a body like that.' Yes they are beautiful, it is their beauty that drives their profession...

...but after making myself feel shittier and shittier about what they have that I don't, I wonder: 'why aren't you happy with what you do have?' And it makes me sad and angry that I have allowed myself to descend into this incredibly negative mindset over something so fickle. I mean sure, I didn't NEED to have two dinners last night...but it was a special occasion...what can I say.

This weekend I went to watch Le Corsaire at the Colloseum, and it was insane. The strength, persistence and the talent it takes to be performing ballet at that level is definitely something enviable. As I sat there with the girls, all silently in awe, I couldn't help but feel a little inadequate. The lead ballerina's abs were insane, and I've always wished I had persued dance as a child...and I have to admit, I wouldn't mind having ridiculously sculpted men lifting me up like I was as light as the bag of popcorn I was making my way through. However to be in awe of someone who has worked so hard to master such a skill as ballet and to be in awe of somone whose fame and limelight sort of just fell into their lap, are completely different things.

The idea of loving yourself is something the world is trying to get on board with since it surfaced in the last few years. 'Strong not skinny' being the leading idea. A healthier attitude towards changing yourself, for the better. This is something I want to touch on as I myself am someone who's self esteem, or lack thereof, often gets the better of me. Luckily, I have friends and family who encourage a healthy existence. We don't deny ourselves the things we like; wine, hot chocolate, hummus (not all at once...most of the time). And yes, okay, we do encourage eachother to work out at the gym, but that is more for our own frame of mind than anything else. Exercise is one of the best ways to maintain a positive attitude. The endorphins it releases helps to keep negativity at bay, which is exactly what we need when a lot of the crappiness felt is inflicted upon ourselves. The meaning behind self-esteem is that it is your own mindset that determines whether you have it or don't. It doesn't matter if you are being complimented every day if your own mind counters these with insults. We are imperfect beings, so why be so hard on ourselves for these imperfections when they are exactly what makes us all so unique, and probably a hell of a lot more interesting than the Kardashians.

My best friend tagged me in the image below earlier today...and it's what inspired this post, and will probably ring true in many peoples minds...

So yeah, all I'm saying is go find that girl crush (or man crush – because I know a lot of guys with those too) that you can project some of your goals onto, but why not make that person someone real, talented, hard-working, and worthy of your admiration?

P O S T S.
T A G S.
No tags yet.
S U B S C R I B E ! 

Stay in Touch

Enjoy Being First!

bottom of page