top of page

N E W G I R L

So my first week at work has finished - *and breathe*.

Beginning a new job is always going to be daunting, let alone joining an office that is extremely close knit. Not only are you taking on a brand new routine, a heap of responsibilities, and an influx of information which will take weeks to remember; you are also trying to make the best impression you can, both professionally and personally, so you don't become the office loner.

Cliques form throughout the school system and the work place is no different, so it's important you find your work-wife to keep you sane. Luckily mine sits on the front desk with me and hasn’t been fazed by my oversharing ways...yet. After living with four other girls at uni, relaying every awkward encounter, embarrassing night out and bodily function openly became totally acceptable behaviour. This is probably something I should work on, or I'll be bending Rupert from Sales' ear about how embarrassing it was when I opened a nude snapchat from an ex flame next to an old guy on a crammed tube: 'like why would anyone even think that that's something I want to see before my morning coffee?!'

By Friday afternoon I'd already got my first nickname. One of the guys answered my connecting call with 'Yo Lizzyboiii' – something so inconsequential, but it filled me with all sorts of hope that I will, eventually, not just be the 'new girl'.

Something I would suggest would be to always, without fail, eat something before committing to Friday after-work drinks. Otherwise, two glasses of wine in and you forget that you hadn't, and by the third you are sloshed and trying with all you might to stand steady and not slur. This, above everything else, is something I'll be sticking to in the future. Otherwise, the next thing you know is you're rolling in at 2.00am wondering how you managed to be persuaded out of staying for 'just one more' before heading home.

Now all thats left to do is hope, come Monday, that everyone has forgotten that embarrassing thing you said out loud - because with the final gulp of your third glass, you also swallowed your filter.

Come to think of it this is probably the same advice I'd give to someone going on a first date.

Rule 1. Eat first, unless he's taking you out for dinner, which for a first date seems way too intense!

Rule 2. Don't drink too much.

Rule 3. Refrain from verbal vomit. Real vomit isn’t great either which is a point worth making.

This is definitely becoming a 'what not to do: based on the real life events of' sort of thing ha ha!

More to follow! x


P O S T S.
T A G S.
No tags yet.
S U B S C R I B E ! 

Stay in Touch

Enjoy Being First!

bottom of page