top of page

E X C E S S

Though it may feel otherwise, the job hunt is not a full time job. Contrary to popular belief *cough cough, parents*, you can't spend nine hours a day going through every job site online, that isn't good for your mental state. Trust me, I've been to the dark place.

So with that in mind, there are a few excess hours in the day to kill. Now I could say that from graduation up until now I have used my time wisely, been productive in a way which helped me become a more rounded, cultured, and generally better person as a whole. However in doing so, I would be lying. I could have actually read Ulysses in all its entirety, taught myself to play the piano that sits sadly in the corner of my living room, or learnt a foreign language that wasn't 'pre-teen girl' - which I am now fluent in, as my twelve year old sister is the only conversationalist in the house besides me. The fact of the matter is, I have spent my time living a life of excess. 'Sounds fun' you may think? well not in the way I mean it.

Anyone who has gone through uni, or just experienced an unexplained lull in their social life, will have at one point or another embarked on a 'netflix binge'. Though not necessarily restricted to netflix, this is where one consciously makes the decision to begin watching a new TV series, whilst subconsciously succumbing to the reality that they will be watching no less than five episodes in one sitting, and reimagining their room into something like this:

For me, stupidly, I decided to re-watch (which makes it even worse – I've already seen them all before!!) Greys Anatomy. For those who haven't seen it, and to explain it in its simplest form, Greys Anatomy is a drama about surgeons. But oh my god it's just so much more. Not only has the producer of the show cast some really, quite wonderful looking male, and very likeable female characters, the writer of the show; Shonda Rhimes, oh so cleverly plays with the overinvested emotions you find yourself having for said people. Oh Shonda!

As I said, everything in excess really comes down to the fact that I am already half way through season seven (when each season has 24 episodes). I need help.

This obsession has now resulted in me spending the time I'm not watching the show, pinning quotes from the show. To the point where Pinterest is going all 'psst!! Looks like you've already saved this.'

Greys Anatomy is LIFE.

Although I've also heard things like Breaking Bad, House of Cards, and American Horror Story can have the same effect too, so be warned.

Anyway, to avoid these moments of no return, try to get all your productivity out of the way first, and maybe try squeeze in a run or something. Then you can begin the downward spiral without guilt or judgement (in theory).

On a less pathetic note, the job hunt is slowly but surely progressing, keeping my fingers crossed!

More to follow!


P O S T S.
T A G S.
No tags yet.
S U B S C R I B E ! 

Stay in Touch

Enjoy Being First!

bottom of page